On Tuesday, April 23rd the College hosted their annual Spring Banquet. Awards in the areas of academics, athletics, student life, and service were presented. Following the awards ceremony, students, staff, and guests were invited to a celebration dinner. The honorees for the evening were as follows…

Academic Awards: These awards are chosen by instructors to honor a student who displays high achievement in their particular department or discipline.

  • Department of Business and Computer Science
    • Business, from Mr. Kevin Lybrand: William Haberfield
    • Economics, from Mr. Charles Williams: Josch Schuck
  • Department of Education, Psychology, Sociology, and Fine Arts
    • Education, from Mrs. Victoria Finck: Cecilia Sanchez
    • Learning Frameworks, from Mrs. Kathleen Glidewell: Jayden King
    • Psychology, from Mrs. Wendy Mills: Diana Godines Pena
    • Sociology, from Mrs. Tonya Watson: Kiara Freeman
    • Art, from Mrs. Michelle Kearney: Bupe Malamula
  • Department of Health and Physical Education
    • Physical Education, from Mr. Jacob Rowland: Anthony Riggans
  • Department of Literature and Languages
    • English, from Ms. Vanita Pettey: Harrison Blaylock
    • Spanish, from Mr. Phil Knott: Ximena González
    • Speech, from Mrs. Penny Burdette: Payton Bragg
  • Department of Mathematics
    • Mathematics, from Mrs. Cathy Smith: Silvio Xavier de Morais
  • Department of Bibilical Studies and Philosophy 
    • Philosophy, from Dr. Aaron Gray: Dallas Mobley
    • Bible, from Dr. Aaron Gray: Natalia Anchondo
  • Department of Science
    • Chemistry, from Dr. Darrell Kirchner: Karim Nasir
    • Biology, from Dr. Tim Stiff: Brandon Jimenez
  • Department of Social Sciences
    • Government, from Dr. Patricia Richey: Brandon Jimenez
    • History, from Mr. Brett Eckles: Jason Gwillim
    • Humanities, from Dr. Patricia Richey: Xiadani Islas

Athletic Awards: These Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards are chosen by the coach to honor a student athlete who displays high achievement in their sport.

  • MVP Awards
    • Men’s Basketball MVP, from Coach Louis Truscott: Anthony Riggans  
    • Women’s Basketball MVP, from Coach Cheyanne Gray: Grace Okih
    • Men’s Cross Country MVP, from Coach Jacob Rowland: Brandon Jimenez
    • Women’s Cross Country MVP, from Coach Jacob Rowland: Taylor Gutierrez  
    • Men’s Golf MVP, from Coach Daniel Leatherman: Blake Turner
    • Women’s Golf MVP, from Coach Daniel Leatherman: Xiadani Islas
    • Men’s Soccer MVP, from Coach Thomas Wait: Kaan Celebi and Filippo Spagnesi
    • Women’s Soccer MVP, from Coach Thomas Wait: Diana Godines
    • Men’s Tennis MVP, from Coach Dylon Neal: Macarthur Swain
    • Women’s Tennis MVP, from Coach Dylon Neal: Nana Kusumoto
    • Men’s Track and Field MVP, from Coach Jacob Rowland: Christian Cobb
    • Women’s Track and Field MVP, from Coach Jacob Rowland: Aaliyah Haugh

Student Life: These awards are nominated and voted on by their peers, the students of Jacksonville College.

  • Mr. Most Talented: Porter Dotson
  • Miss Most Talented: Nana Kusumoto
  • Mr. Best School Spirit: Jason Gwillim
  • Miss Best School Spirit: Nana Kusumoto
  • Mr. Freshman Class Favorite: Jacob Martinez and Silvio Xavier de Morais
  • Miss Freshman Class Favorite: Lexi Allison
  • Mr. Sophomore Class Favorite: Brandon Jimenez
  • Miss. Sophomore Class Favorite: Kira Lehner
  • Favorite JC Employee: Coach Leatherman

Service Awards:

  • Dr. Mike and Susan Smith Servant Leadership Award: This award, and scholarship, chosen by the college faculty and staff, is in honor of former President Dr. Mike Smith and his wife Susan and given to a freshman student that displays a heart for servant leadership along with academic achievement and moral integrity.
    • This year’s recipient is Jordyn Herring
  • Curtis Carroll Award: Each year the faculty chooses a sophomore student for this award, named for former college president Curtis Carroll. This student is to exemplify the highest of Christian behavior, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, be involved in campus and community activities, and be characterized by a good attitude and high standard of conduct.
    • This year’s recipient is Brandon Jimenez
  • C.R. Meadows Award: This award, in memory of former college president and pastor CR Meadows, is awarded by the current president of the college to a student who exudes academic excellence and high moral integrity.
    • This year’s recipient is Massimo Moretti

Congratulations to all the students who were recognized this year! 

JC President Dr. David Erickson presenting student Brandon Jimenez with the Curtis Carroll Award